SOLVED: Trying to install on Linux

Free Internet troubleshooting agent for Centos, Ubuntu and others. Outages.io automatically finds connectivity issues and gives you hard facts.
dadaksa
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:25 pm

Outages not recording

Post by dadaksa »

Hello,

I am not sure what I am doing wrong but so far since 2-3 days the computer has been on most of the time and only four short outages show from the first day. Of course the agent has been running all the time and shows as active on the website. In reality the internet was running intermittently and sometimes not working for hours at the time. (not on the computer, not on the phone and the internet light on the modem was off, it just kept trying to connect) I must be doing something wrong.

There are also no speed test updates since 30 April.

Any hints would be appreciated :-)

Dada

dadaksa
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Outages not recording

Post by dadaksa »

Did you receive the below post?
Everything seems to be running but outages are not recorded...
dadaksa wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 5:55 am
Hello,

I am not sure what I am doing wrong but so far since 2-3 days the computer has been on most of the time and only four short outages show from the first day. Of course the agent has been running all the time and shows as active on the website. In reality the internet was running intermittently and sometimes not working for hours at the time. (not working on the computer, nor on the phone and the internet light on the modem was off, it just kept trying to connect) I must be doing something wrong.

There are also no speed test updates since 30 April.

Any hints would be appreciated :-)

Dada

User avatar
Outages.io_Support
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:09 am

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by Outages.io_Support »

Hi, sorry, I had not seen this. Kind of new to these forums and didn't realize there was a second page. When I logged in, I'd see the same last post which tells me I've missed a bunch of things and have to look into that next.

Please take a look at this; viewtopic.php?f=32&t=31
This explains what the different statuses mean.

From what I'm reading, while you've experienced some outages, the rest of the problems do not seem to be IP outages.

The agent will always report IP outages so long as it is running and was not turned off during an outage.
If you get disconnections but no outages, this means that the problem is not IP outages but something else is causing Internet loss.
Now things get a little more complicated but it's what you don't see that tells the story.

The first question is how is your Internet provided. Is it by a wireless provider or a cable provider? If it is either of these two forms then you have signal levels at play. Signal levels cannot be monitored by Outages.io though it is in our list of things to tackle.
If you see many inactive without outages, you are probably experiencing signal level losses and in turn, Internet connectivity issues.

If you don't think this is the problem after checking signal levels, the next thing to look for and taking into account that all other devices are failing, it means something like a cable is going bad, maybe a power supply is giving out, maybe a switch is failing. The problem is right near the router/modem or that is the problem. If you have a router/firewall just before your providers device for example, it could be that too.

If you do have a router/firewall just before your providers device, connect a laptop directly into the providers device and see if the problems persist.

You'll have to carefully check and test everything.

I apologize for not seeing your question earlier. Now I need to check others that I've missed.
I'm with the Outages.io support team. Please post your question and I'll try to answer

Are the issues in your local network, with your Internet provider or beyond?
Save countless hours by letting Outages.io help you find Internet connection problems.

dadaksa
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by dadaksa »

Hello!

Thanks, I was wondering what happened as your earlier replies were super fast.

I don't fully understand why it would not record the outages. I just have a DSL connection over the land line. The only wireless part is the Wifi after the modem. That part keeps working fine and the internal network is up.

The lights on the modem clearly show when its connected with the internet and when not. The outages website does not seem to capture it. I would think if there is no internet connection the client can't connect with the outages host and it would record it as not being connected.

The main reason for running the client is to be able to show Telmex that over half the time the modem is not connecting.

Hope you have some idea

User avatar
Outages.io_Support
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:09 am

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by Outages.io_Support »

Hi,

If you are not seeing outages in your reports, it means what ever the problems are that you are experiencing are not Internet/IP related. Or at least, they are not IP related in any way that is under your control.

>The lights on the modem clearly show when its connected with the internet and when not.

I don't know which modem you have but modems are also signal based and DSL can be prone to interference and signal level issues.
When you say it shows the Internet is connected, what light are you looking at? What does the manual say about it and its meaning?

What I'm asking if we need to know very specifically what this light means on this modem. It may or may not actually be the 'Internet' that is up when this light is on. It might just mean that it has contact with the DSLAM multiplexer in your neighborhood where all of your neighbors DSL connections go to. Meaning, it might only mean an electrical connection and not specifically Internet access.

>The outages website does not seem to capture it.
>I would think if there is no internet connection the client can't connect with the outages host and it would record it as not being connected.

Correct, that is the purpose of Outages.io but if there is no actual IP outage then there is nothing to report. The agent will always report an outage if there was one. An outage is specifically related to IP only. Outages.io cannot determine anything else but not seeing outages does tell you that the problem is not necessarily IP related.

This short article might help. viewtopic.php?f=19&t=27

I'll take a closer look at your reports if you've shared the agent ID in this thread. If it's not here, please share it.

You also mentioned a speed test problem but then seem to say that this is resolved now. Can you confirm.
I'm with the Outages.io support team. Please post your question and I'll try to answer

Are the issues in your local network, with your Internet provider or beyond?
Save countless hours by letting Outages.io help you find Internet connection problems.

dadaksa
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by dadaksa »

Hello,

I think my agent ID is 31591.

The thing is that the first (and only) 5 events recorded (in April) kind of represent what is happening. The internet connection goes of for seconds, minutes and often many hours. Nothing at all was recorded after these first events. Also the speed test is not updating.

The modem has a light for "power", "internet","DSL / WAN" and beside the LAN ports a "WPS/WLAN"
When power, internet, DSL and WLAN are on, the internet is working without trouble. The internet light indicates that the modem is able to ping/connect with the provider's site, which normally means you can connect anywhere on the internet.

When the internet light is off, the internet connection is off. In that case the DSL light comes on intermittently indicating that it's trying to establish a link.

The main reason the connection is not good is indeed signal strength. However sometimes the signal is just enough to lock on and the Internet light indicates that the modem is able to connect (ping?) successfully with the internet provider at other times it just keep blinking for hours till it catches on again. The technicians know we need new cables and an exchange box closer to our house. They just do not seem to be in a hurry to do it (since 6 months already!) If I can show how bad it really is I may get a higher priority.

As a test, if I unplug the dsl cable should outages.io record it as a disconnection? It does not. Though there are regular small interruptions visible in the heart-beat, they are also not showing with the Outages bars.

Hope this can help :-)

User avatar
Outages.io_Support
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:09 am

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by Outages.io_Support »

I'm taking a closer look.
Can you restart the agent please. It's been running for 3 days and I see that the last speed test was on the 9th which is when it was last restarted.

I think the reason the speed tests aren't coming in is because your bandwidth is below even 1Mbps. Our test runs at 1Mbps minimum which might explain what is going on there. We have been testing code that can report speeds below 1Mbps but it's not released yet.

I can pretty confidently state that the agent would log IP related outages if that is what was going on. It typically will not show an outage if you disconnect the local router because it needs at least one hop beyond the first hop or gateway. Meaning, if you installed the agent so that there is the gateway then another hop, then it would see that next hop down if it was.

Note also that looking at your reports shows a bunch of 10.x.x.x IPs/hops. It looks like your provider's modem is your gateway and then the ISP network, all using the 10.x.x.x network. That makes it a bit hard to decipher what is what.

The setup makes me think your provider is a small one reselling the larger one. Not sure yet. Too bad you can't get a neighbor to use Outages.io too. Then we could figure out what belongs where.

Let me stare at it some more.
I'm with the Outages.io support team. Please post your question and I'll try to answer

Are the issues in your local network, with your Internet provider or beyond?
Save countless hours by letting Outages.io help you find Internet connection problems.

dadaksa
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:25 pm

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by dadaksa »

Alex wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 12:01 pm
I'm taking a closer look.
Can you restart the agent please. It's been running for 3 days and I see that the last speed test was on the 9th which is when it was last restarted.
Ok, I restarted it. Actually I saw there were two otm_linux processes running. I killed both and restarted. Now one process is running


I think the reason the speed tests aren't coming in is because your bandwidth is below even 1Mbps. Our test runs at 1Mbps minimum which might explain what is going on there. We have been testing code that can report speeds below 1Mbps but it's not released yet.
Sometimes that may be true but most of the time, when there is a connection, it works for Zoom, YouTube on HD so I would think that is more than 1Mbps.


I can pretty confidently state that the agent would log IP related outages if that is what was going on. It typically will not show an outage if you disconnect the local router because it needs at least one hop beyond the first hop or gateway. Meaning, if you installed the agent so that there is the gateway then another hop, then it would see that next hop down if it was.
Sorry this is a bit too technical for me. I only know that when I first installed it last month it did record 5 outages in the first day. The same keeps going on but now not recorded.

Note also that looking at your reports shows a bunch of 10.x.x.x IPs/hops. It looks like your provider's modem is your gateway and then the ISP network, all using the 10.x.x.x network. That makes it a bit hard to decipher what is what.
I am connected with Private Internet Access VPN. But while initially is was recording the outages (with or without the VPN) Now it has not been recording again with or without the VPN running.

The setup makes me think your provider is a small one reselling the larger one. Not sure yet.
I am using Telmex which is the main provider for the whole of Mexico.

Too bad you can't get a neighbor to use Outages.io too. Then we could figure out what belongs where.
That will be difficult. I don't know who has internet here and my Spanish is not enough to be able to explain...

Let me stare at it some more.

User avatar
Outages.io_Support
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:09 am

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by Outages.io_Support »

Two processes? Yes, you definitely only want one running.

The speed test runs every hour for example. When I looked at your reports, I saw results that were below 1Mbps.

In terms of the provider, I am making assumptions, trying to guess, to try and understand your setup and situation. Even if this is a large provider, it 'appears' as if there might be a smaller in-between because of the range of IPs I'm seeing. Again, all assumptions.

VPN or no VPN, you are still connecting using IP and that is what the agent is testing. It cannot test or know anything but IP. It does not monitor packets or DNS or how you use your Internet, it only tests the connection from source to a destination. If you are not seeing outages, it is because there are no IP outages causing your problems.

That said, anything is possible. Without neighbors monitoring, it is very difficult to go deep into your situation because there is just not enough information. Maybe you have a friend that is technical and understands IP a little more that could help you? With that persons input, it might give me more information to help you with.
I'm with the Outages.io support team. Please post your question and I'll try to answer

Are the issues in your local network, with your Internet provider or beyond?
Save countless hours by letting Outages.io help you find Internet connection problems.

User avatar
Outages.io_Support
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:09 am

Re: Trying to install on Linux

Post by Outages.io_Support »

I've been keeping an eye out on this and there isn't enough information to know anything yet.
Maybe you can share a little more info.

For example, the providers router/modem, this is the only device on your network that you connect to? Meaning, you do not have a switch or another router before theirs? Your Internet connections are directly from their device?

I ask because I see that your hop one which appears to be your gateway has used four different private network segments.
10.60.10.1, 10.31.1.1, 10.34.10.1 and 10.38.1.1. After that, it goes to a public IP.

In this case, things are not obvious and this happens now and then. I'm sorry it's happening to you and I wish Outages.io could help you but there is just not enough information and some things are not quite usual.
I'm with the Outages.io support team. Please post your question and I'll try to answer

Are the issues in your local network, with your Internet provider or beyond?
Save countless hours by letting Outages.io help you find Internet connection problems.

Post Reply