Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Ask how a feature works, how agents work, anything related to non specific agent platforms
Mike
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:54 pm

Re: Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Post by Mike »

I wish there was another way than buying a router especially if that is not the problem.
I assume you've looked at the routers logs to see if you can spot anything?

sam33
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Post by sam33 »

Yeah not much there. A new router isn't the worst thing, the one we're using is ISP provided and not exactly full-featured.

Mike
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:54 pm

Re: Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Post by Mike »

Ok, keep me informed. I sure hope that's what the problem is.

BTW, another way to help confirm is to install another agent (or more) in the area. That will tell you if there is a common problem that others are seeing as well. If others in the area are also seeing problems with that second hop, that tells you it's not your router.

Mike
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:54 pm

Re: Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Post by Mike »

Not sure if you ordered the new hardware yet.
It would be nice if you could just install another agent or two in your neighborhood.
Then you could confirm better if it's your router or something on the providers side.

Mike

sam33
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Using Outages.io - help confirming problem network

Post by sam33 »

Yeah, its already on the way. Unfortunately we don't really have any other contacts in the neighbourhood to make that work, so I'll have to make do with using a different router.

Post Reply