Manage menu

FAQ posts are linked from the application ocp.outages.io therefore, in no particular order in this forum. This is a work in progress
Locked
KelAuth
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:13 pm

Manage menu

Post by KelAuth »

The mange menu is where members control the data and installation of software agents.

When a software agent is created and its software then installed onto a PC/server/device, an association is created between the software running at the location being monitored and its corresponding reports in the dashboard.

If the software is uninstalled from the PC/server/device, it will no longer send data to the Outages.io network but its reports will not be removed until manually deleted or abandoned by the member.

Consequently, if an agents reports are removed from the dashboard and leaving the agent software running on the PC/server/device, the agent will no longer be able to communicate and becomes useless.

To prevent these situations, the manage menu gives members three options.

Reset
If you have moved this agent to a new address or wish to start its reports as new, use the reset option. This clears all previous data and resets your reports as new for this agent.

Re-install
If you wish to continue using this agent but need to re-install the software on your PC, use this option. If you remove the software from your PC without using this option these reports will become historical only until you delete this agent from your OCP.

Delete
If you would like to completely remove all reports for this agent, use the Delete option. This is an irreversible function meaning that this agent will be removed from your OCP along with all of its reports. You may install a new agent at any time.

When installing and activating hardware agents immediately become part of the organizations inventory. If an agent is damaged or is permanently removed from its monitoring location it will no longer send data or update its reports. However, its reports will not be removed until they are deleted from the inventory using the delete option.

Reset If there is a need to reset an agents reports, this option clears all previous data and resets its reports as if it were freshly installed.

Delete This option completely removes all reports for an agent. This is an irreversible function meaning that this agent will be removed from inventory along with all of its reports.

Re-using this hardware agent is possible but may require having to contact Outages.io support in order to have the agent prepared for a new activation or relocation. In rare cases, this may mean having to send the agent back to Outages.io.

Locked